Skip to content

Eighth Annual Moving Weekend!


Though it takes even more time away from my already hectic schedule, this weekend I’m moving… again.  It seems like I can’t stay in one place for more than a year.  I think this is a residual reflex left over from a career of schooling.  Each four years of my undergraduate work, two years of graduate work, and now two years in between–each year I move.   So, as one of my favorite groups of students concludes an accelerated semester of composition (they did really well), and two more begin, I’m moving once again.

With the turn of the season, it feels unnatural to stay in the same place.  I’m a restless person (in more ways than one).  But I’m feeling sentimental as I sit in my soon-to-be-old kitchen now filled completely with the knick-knacks of my soon-to-be-old roomates.  I will miss this house and the two great friends I’ve shared it with.  I’ll miss the Halloween decorations and devil posters that I never loved so much until now.  I’ll miss the company and closeness that comes with sharing a home.  I will miss this kitchen, the kitten on my lap, and I will miss my friends.

But now, again, I will try out a new way of living.  Here’s to my eighth chapter. I really hope it’s a good one.

I won’t be cooking today.  If I get any cooking done this weekend, it’ll be a miracle.  What I am doing, however, is ordering pad thai.  But when I unpack and begin another new life, at least I’ll have all of my pretty dishes back, so you’ll be seeing those soon!

Tomorrow, after I return the UHaul but before I unpack, I hope to be dining on some green burgers and for dessert I’ll be inhaling some black bottom pumpkin cupcakes I made last night (recipe to come soon). We’ll see.

So ta ta for now, I’ll be back soon.  I look forward to reading and writing posts when life begins again next week. :)

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Moving can be stressful, although it seems that its almost cathartic for you. You’ll be a pro in your new kitchen soon enough. Hang in there.

    October 24, 2011

Leave a comment