Skip to content

Black Bottom Pumpkin Cupcakes

Black Bottom Pumpkin Cupcakes Muffins

Black Bottom Pumpkin Cupcakes Muffins

As I was writing this recipe, it occurred to me that I wasn’t really sure I understood the difference between a cupcake and a muffin.  What was this thing I had created?  Does a cupcake need frosting? Could that really be all it is?  Do muffins need oatmeal or bran?  I’ve seen muffins without wholesome, breakfasty ingredients.  Are muffins breakfast food and cupcakes desserts?  I was lost in a world of sweet batter.

The Cupcake Project gave me an acceptable answer.  Okay it’s about frosting, but it’s more than that.  It’s about the ingredient ratio.  2-4 tbsp sugar and 1 egg per 2 cups of sugar?  It’s a muffin.  More than that?  It’s a cupcake.  Well, then, these are definitely cupcakes… without the frosting.

But I get such a strange feeling when I call these cupcakes, like I’m being dishonest.  If I handed one to a child and said, “Here.  Have a cupcake!,”  I think they’d be disappointed.  I think I feel more comfortable with muffin-cakes.  But even that sounds…

Well, regardless.  These are good.  Very good.  The cookie bottom is a riff on the cookie crust I use for (raw)eggless French Silk Pie; the cake has a not-overly-sweet taste with a warm, rich finish, and the crumble adds a little texture and sweetness.  I may not be sure what these are, but I am sure that they’re good.  Really good. :)

Black Bottom Pumpkin Cupcakes Muffins

Black Bottom Pumpkin Cupcakes

Just an FYI: This is a three part recipe: black bottom, muffin, crumble.

Chocolate Bottom

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
Crumble
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup muscavado sugar
  • 2/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 3/4 cup cake flour
Pumpkin Cupcake
  • 1/2 cup room temperature butter
  • 1/2 cup light muscavado sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup cooked, mashed pumpkin
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp fresh ginger, mashed
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup milk
  1. Prepare chocolate bottom.  Sift four, cocoa, and salt. Place butter in a large bowl and beat with a whisk attachment until fluffy (at least 5 minutes). Add sugar and vanilla and continue to beat (using beater attachment), about 2 minutes. Combine ingredients.  Beat until well mixed. Evenly divide crumbly mixture into 12 cupcake liners.
  2. Prepare crumble. Combine ingredients.  Set aside.
  3. In stand mixer on medium speed, beat butter and sugar until fluffy.  Add eggs, one at a time, combining thoroughly.  Add pumpkin, fresh ginger, and vanilla.  Beat until mixed. Add milk.  Mix well and set aside.
  4. In another bowl, mix dry ingredients. Slowly add in dry ingredients in four additions.  Spoon over chocolate mixture, dividing batter even between cupcake liners.
  5. Evenly divide crumble between muffins.
  6. Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes (or until a toothpick will come out clean).
  7. Let cool; enjoy!
3 Comments Post a comment
  1. These are beautiful! And the combination of pumpkin and chocolate is always a winner.

    November 16, 2011
  2. This looks so delicious, love the chocolate bottom. Doesn’t matter what you call them look moist and perfect.

    November 18, 2011
  3. I say that if there is chocolate it’s a cupcake.

    November 28, 2011

Leave a comment