Skip to content

Glazed Carrot Salad

Glazed Carrot Salad

Glazed Carrot Salad

Work has become a more demanding force in my life and I’ve been left with an hour or less to put together a dinner (and to photograph it!).  My recipes, as a result, might be getting a little simpler, but I guarantee that they’re just as good.

My farmer’s market and CSA have only about two more weeks to go and then I’ll be left to forage through my gigantic freezer for a few months.  But, for now, I can still cook fresh food and this is one of the things I’ve been hankering for: glazed carrots.

Carrots are still in abundance at the farmer’s market and while I’ve been freezing most them, I saved a few for this quick salad.  The really great thing about this recipe, though, is that you can start it and (aside from stirring a bit) bake something else while it’s reducing (might I suggest a tart?).  This is definitely a prime multi-tasking food.  So, give it a shot, let me know how it goes.  This has definitely become a favorite at my house.

Glazed Carrot Salad

Glazed Carrot Salad

  • 1 1/2 cup carrots
  • 1 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 1/4 cup chopped nuts (almonds, pecans, walnuts, whatever you like)
  • 2 tbsp feta cheese
  1. Combine carrots, honey, water and mustard.  Cook until liquid has thickened.
  2. Toast chopped nuts (you can do this in the oven or in an ungreased frying pan over medium heat.  They are toasted when the become fragrant).
  3. Crumble feta cheese.
  4. Combine ingredients and enjoy!
10 Comments Post a comment
  1. This looks awesome. I LOVE carrots. I mean, I’ve always liked them, but recently I just can’t get enough of them. For example, it’s 9:50am and I just had a carrot for ‘breakfast’ (I keep a bag or two here at the office). And have you tried carrot juice? That stuff if the drink of the gods, man.

    October 11, 2011
    • I *love* carrot juice. Though I recently bought some from whole foods and I have to say: store bought carrot juice is trash! I’m a juicer girl all the way. :)

      October 11, 2011
  2. What a gorgeous healthy salad, I love this!! Definitely making this soon, I love carrots :)

    October 11, 2011
  3. I have to try this recipe!!! I love that there is no butter!! Ekk I want to get home and get started :)

    October 11, 2011
  4. YUM!!!
    I actually have a bunch of carrots from my CSA sitting in the fridge. I may change it up a bit but this recipe is definitely being used sometime this week! Thank you for the inspiration.

    October 12, 2011
  5. Simplicity at its best! Tomorrow is the market day here and I am going to get some carrots to make this!
    Angie

    October 12, 2011
  6. I love the combo of flavors and textures you’ve got going on here!

    October 12, 2011
  7. I have no idea why but i never just make carrots – don’t ask why but this looks delicious.

    October 13, 2011
  8. Oh wow, this looks awesome! It’d be a good way to get your three-year-old eat vegetables. sweet and yummy carrots… :)

    October 14, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. #12 Carrot Salad « Siena Farms Blog

Leave a comment