Skip to content

Whole Radish Tart

Whole Radish Tart

Whole Radish Tart

Okay, it’s possible that I may have a tart problem.  I can’t help myself!  They’re quick, easy, and make for no-fail main courses.  And this tart makes the radish the star, the main course.  You’re welcome radishes.

I might have mentioned, I’m studying for the Literature in English GRE exam; this exam not only requires you to know pretty much everything important ever written in the English language, it requires a basic, but still cumbersome command of Roman and Greek myths, gods, and goddesses.

How does the radish play into this?

It follows a pretty similar timeline. The Romans adored radishes, but with the fall of the Roman Empire, so went the radish.  They reemerged about the time Shakespeare enters the stage (hehe)–an author that we treat much like Middle English writers treated Homer and Virgil.

So, maybe the Romans weren’t eating radish tarts (back then pastry was considered a case, but not edible–and who are we kidding, they probably weren’t very good), but radishes *are* the food of literary genius.  And this tart uses the whole darn radish. Just like Shakespeare did (okay, I made that last part up.)  Enjoy!

Whole Radish Tart

Radish Layer

  • 2 bunches radishes, about 10oz radish (weight refers just to the bottoms, but do hold on to the greens)
  • 3 tbsp cup honey
  • 1  cup water
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard
Greens Layer
  • 1/4 lb radish greens, chopped
  • 3 small farm eggs or two store-bought large eggs
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 c greek yogurt
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Prepare tart crust.
  2. Bake crust for 10 minutes at 350 (until set).
  3. Beat eggs and yogurt.  Combine with garlic, salt, pepper and radish greens; pour into tart shell and bake until set (about 30-45 minutes)–if the crust begins to brown too much, cover with tin foil.
  4. Slice radishes and combine with honey, water, and mustard.  Cook until syrup has thickened.
  5. Remove tart from oven; carefully place radishes on top and bake at 350 for another 20 minutes.
  6. Cool slightly and serve!
10 Comments Post a comment
  1. I have to admit, I’m not a huge fan of the radish. But, this recipe sounds so interesting and good that I think I’ll have to give it a try. Besides who doesn’t like a tart?

    October 15, 2011
    • I am definitely not a radish fan either! I tried to make glazed radishes with black Spanish and watermelon radishes from the CSA and they were so darn bad, I had to toss them. But this tart works pretty well for non-radish lovers, if I do say so myself. :)

      October 15, 2011
  2. This sounds interesting…

    October 15, 2011
  3. Wow…what a gorgeous tart! I love radishes, but only ever have them in salads or whole dipped in salt with a good cocktail in the other hand! I love that you used the whole radish. They layers are just so pretty! Great recipe!

    October 15, 2011
  4. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and leaving that sweet comment! This tart is beautiful, and I love how it uses every part of the radish! Radishes typically aren’t something I use very often and I think this recipe would be a wonderful way for me to start eating them more.

    Best of luck on your upcoming exam!

    October 17, 2011
  5. Um, wow. I never would thought to use radishes like this. Gorgeous!

    October 17, 2011
  6. You are amazing with these tarts. I just bought a tart pan while I was away and now that I am back I am really going to try making one. Going to catch up on the posts I missed which I see are quite a few.

    October 20, 2011
  7. I love radishes and it’s a good thing, too, as they are a weekly in my CSA, spring or fall. I can’t wait to try this (GF tart crust, of course). I love using the radish greens too. They have a great flavor, but unfortunately don’t keep well.

    October 25, 2011
  8. Ali D #

    This is an awesome recipe. Thanks so much for sharing it. Using the whole radish is very satisfying. I had no idea what I was going to do with 2 whole bunches of radishes but luckily I found your recipe and it totally exceeded my expectations. I used some buckwheat flour and white flour for the crust – it turned out good. I also just added the left over egg white from the crust to the tart and that was fine. Yummy and beautiful :) Thanks!

    November 5, 2011

Leave a comment