Skip to content

Butternut Squash Empanadas

Butternut Squash Empinadas

Butternut Squash Empinadas

Well, tomatoes and corn are on their way out, but winter squash season is here.  Dedicated readers will recall my general distaste for most things squashy and my constant search for ways to serve squash in less squashy ways.  This one was definitely a winner.  Well, with one little snafoo.

If you’ll recall, a few weeks ago, I raved about my ridiculously good caramelized onion tart, being particularly pleased (and maybe even a little snooty) about my locally grown, organic roughly ground whole wheat flour. These empinadas gave me a little reality check.

Butternut Squash Empinadas

Okay, you got me. There's a spaghetti squash here. Do I smell sides?

This kind of flour is good for lots of things (and better for you), but not so much for delicate pastries like these.  They tasted great, but are not as aesthetically pleasing. I’d suggest whole wheat pastry flour or all purpose unbleached if you’re making these for company. :)

Adapted from Give me Flour 

Pastry

  • 2 cup whole wheat pastry flour or all purpose
  • 1 1/3 stick butter, cubed
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup parmesean cheese
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3 tbsp greek yogurt
Filling
  • 1 1/2 cup butternut squash (about 1/2 squash, but I baked an entire one and froze the leftovers)
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp fresh sage, chopped
  • 6 oz goat cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Cut squash in half, lay face down on parchment paper-lined baking sheet and bake at 350 until softened (about 1 hour).

Prepare Pastry. This is one of those pastries that you’ll want to keep cold.

  1. Combine dry ingredients (flour, salt, cheese) and butter.
  2. Rub butter into dry ingredients until it resembles truly rough breadcrumbs (some butter chunks are okay).
  3. Beat egg and yogurt together; gently combine with dry ingredients.
  4. Form into a ball and set aside in the refrigerator for at least one hour.
Prepare Filling.
  1. Saute onion with olive oil until softened.  Add garlic and sage; cook for another minute or two.  Set aside.
  2. Combine pumpkin and onion mixture.  Salt and pepper to taste.
Combine
  1. Roll out pastry to about 1/8″ thick and, using a bowl or large cup, cut out about 14 circles (that’s about what I had, but this may differ depending on how many times you re-roll the leftovers.
  2. Divide filling and cheese according to the amount of empinadas you’ve got.
  3. On one half of the circle, lay the squash mixture., then the cheese.
  4. Use water to dampen the edges; pull the empty side over the squash side and press to close. Repeat for remaining empinadas.
  5. Beat one egg and brush empinadas.
  6. Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes, or until golden brown.
  7. Let cool slightly and enjoy!
12 Comments Post a comment
  1. I’m glad my pies inspired you to make it. I love your version of the empanadas and this pastry dough just sounds amazing! Nothing can go wrong with parmesean, right? Have to try, have to try!!

    October 17, 2011
    • Still, they were nowhere near as beautiful as yours. Thanks for the recipe. :)

      October 17, 2011
  2. I love empanadas and this is a wonderful recipe. Thanks!

    October 17, 2011
  3. I have never made empanadas at home – but what a fabulous twist to this recipe love it!

    October 17, 2011
  4. L O V E this! Totally making these soon!

    October 17, 2011
  5. Love empanadas. Your butternut squash version is perfect for the fall. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing.

    October 17, 2011
  6. Oh. My. Gosh. YUM!! Goat cheese + butternut squash all in an empanada? I really, really hope we get butternut squash in our next CSA share. If not, I am straight to the grocery store to buy them so I can make these. Thanks for the tip on the flour. I wonder if whole wheat pastry flour would work?

    October 17, 2011
  7. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment on my blog. I am so happy to find yours! Your food and photos are beautiful! I’m a new follower of yours on Facebook. :)
    ~Mama J @ A Little Bit Crunchy A Little Bit Rock and Roll

    October 18, 2011
  8. These sound like fall CSA heaven. YUM!

    October 18, 2011
  9. I love empanadas, but never considered putting butternut squash in them. Thank you for the inspiration!

    October 20, 2011
  10. Pinned it onto my pinterest…. Love the look of your empanadas!

    October 20, 2011
  11. Buzzed and saved!

    November 13, 2011

Leave a comment